When I see you

A couple of weeks ago, I attended a mini Fantasia concert. I am not a huge fan of live music/concerts but she managed to draw me in, giving me goose pimples through her voice and her performance. For someone who did not want to live a couple of weeks before, she was overflowing with life and energy. I am nowhere near the top 1000 sentimental people in a town of  1000 but two of her songs have struck a chord with me and I am expecting a bill from youtube in the near future for playing the heck out of these two songs. I rarely ever pay attention to the lyrics of half the songs I listen to and even sing along to but these songs resonate for me. They are Bittersweet and When I see you.

 When I see you reminds me of a primary or high school crush. It is a sweet song that makes me smile. Even as an adult, I have felt this way about one or two people. I don’t feel the need to pursue the issue or tell the person anything, rather the giddiness I get from their presence and my reaction to them is sufficient. My favourite lines in the song are: You’re always on my mind
When you come around I get shy
Never know when you might walk by
So I gotta be right on time                                                                                                                                                                                              With all the trials and tribulations of living life day to day, it is nice to have someone who can make you feel inherently happy without making any demands on them or of yourself. It is like having a little secret that you never want to share.

 While Bittersweet does not apply to me presently, the song gave me pause for thought. The song is about her having left someone who did not treat her well but still being in love with him. Part of her wants him and part of her does not – to parapharse the lyrics. She wonders if she made the right decision as she cannot forget him and when she thinks about him, I guess there are conflicting emotions hence the title bittersweet. The phrase bittersweet got me thinking about people who get into situations that feel good in the present but that they know holds no gold at the end of the rainbow. What is it that makes people pursue instant happiness knowing fully well that it is leading to major pain? I figure that it is a human trait that some of us cannot help comparable maybe to female animals mating with their male counterparts even though they are aware they the male is not going to be around to help rear their offspring. That may not be the most eloquent comparison but I think it may illustrate instinct- something we are wired to do. Seek out happiness however we can  and deal with the consequences whatever they may be. Afterall, happiness no matter how fleeting is still a warm and fuzzy emotion, no?

2 thoughts on “When I see you

  1. Ha!ha!ha! My fav lines are: “For someone who did not want to live a couple of weeks before, she was overflowing with life and energy.” and “female animals mating with their male counterparts even though they are aware they the male is not going to be around to help rear their offspring”
    LWKMD!

Leave a Reply

