Perspective

As we walk into work most days, my co-workers and I are able to see the work we have to do for the night. More often than not, there are complaints about the amount of work if it is one of those busy days. Sometimes, I join is as well as if I am getting paid to go to work and be a social butterfly. However, a couple of weeks ago while having a conversation with a new co-worker, I realised that perspective can make any situation achieve a 180 turn. To him, the work was job security. When he came into work and saw a lot to do, it made him happy. His previous job had been in a company that had to shut down because the recession created a lack in sales resulting in a diminished to non-existent workload and eventually the company shut down. So according to him, when he came in and saw a lot of work, he felt like his future was secure at least for a little longer. I was amazed at how true that statement rang and it has done wonders for my attitude on extremely trying and busy days: I know that at the end of the day when I look around and still see some more work to be done on my return, that I am luckier than most and thankful to have a job.

Sometimes, one of the hardest things to do it provide an objective ear to a friend with an emotional problem. Because we are not emotionally tied to the situation, it can be very hard not to come across as judgemental. In my striving to become a better person, I can look back now and see instances where in I was not the best friend and I can also see how being able to truly take a step back and look at the situation from the other person’s point of view can be extremely beneficial to the friendship.  Furthermore, of course the easiest road to this path is the tried and true experience. I was not the most emotional person in college and while most of my friends were having relationships and dealing with the drama of it all, I seemed to float about in a bubble of obliviousness. My best friend at the time was going through some turmoil with her boyfriend and every time she would ask my opinion, I would give it to her very directly and harshly without censoring myself: I did not like the boy. I thought he was not worth her time. He was stupid and childish and she was acting the same way by being with him. Inevitably, this caused the demise of our friendship. As I look back now, I still contend that the boy was an idiot, but I know that I could have handled the situation better. Instead of calling him names and telling her she was being stupid, I could have tried to get her to see where I was coming from and if that failed, simply being a support system for her.  I am very proud of myself for how far I have come with that very open-minded attitude. Recently, I walked into a conversation about someone who had just left her husband. Everyone in the conversation was bashing her and being overly judgmental. As I walked away, I had to smile to myself because most of the people in that conversation had an issue that could easily be related to hers but it seems easier to remove the speck of sand from another’s eye while we have an entire semi hanging out of ours. I continue to push myself to new limits with how I view and approach the world. I had someone tell me once that I am too open-minded because I will find a way to explain anything so that I can accept it. If there is such a thing, then I am extremely proud to be too open-minded!!

Leave a Reply

