Paleo. Primal. Caveman.

My head is reeling. Paleo. Primal. Caveman. All words used to describe a lifestyle choice whereby you eat like man did in the paleolithic ages. Man at that time was a hunter-gatherer and if he did not find it or kill it, he did not eat it. Agriculture brought about the end of these times as man settled down and began eating from stationary food sources. It is the belief of Paleo practitioners that our bodies have not evolved enough to digest the crap we are now filling our bodies with and since man in those days was probably the healthiest of all ages, if we eat like they ate, we should follow the same trend. There is still so much to learn but I have come to a couple of conclusions.

1. A full Paleo diet is not for me. I do not like diets that are restrictive and if I want to keep enjoying the foods from my culture, I may not be able to adhere to a strict Paleo diet. However…

2. Through my research and as well as from a friend, I believe we are genetically predisposed to digest certain foods better than others based on where our ancestors originated. Now this belief is still in its beginning stages as I have yet to figure out what exactly it is that my ancestors ate!

3. Fresh! Fresh! Fresh! That is the cornerstone of Paleo. And what is wrong with that? As I continue this journey to optimum health, I am having to relearn how to eat properly within the confines of my adult life. I work 16 hours and more some days and therefore cooking becomes impossible and coupled with my recent workouts… ugh! I am determined to make this lifestyle change work because the goals I have cannot be achieved if I don’t. And in case you were not listening here they are again: complete the half marathon in November. Enlist in the Air Force. Prevent saggy Ts and As… oh yeah and wrinkles. And a sad heart. And clogged arteries. And… anything bad that comes from unhealthy aging. If I could I would prevent aging as a whole. Where can I find a Benjamin Button serum?

Leave a Reply

