Nine Eleven

World Trade Center Tribute Lights

I wanted so badly to put up a post for 9/11 but my schedule would not allow for it. It was going to be about where I was when it happened – In bed. My aunt woke me up and I thought she was joking. How I felt about it – Now that answer is too long and complicated and would require delicate handling so I shall save it for next year. Today however, in light of the bombings in Libya, the invasion of which I was completely against, I am reminded of one of my favourite quotes about 9/11. Now let me just say I am very non-political. I do not believe in any political parties, I believe in the lesser of two evils. My world view may have an ethereal quality to it but at the end of the day it is my belief that the average citizen of the United States is very ignorant about what happens in other parts of the world, the impact their country has on the rest of world both negative and positive. It is easy to look at 9/11 as just an attack on poor innocent people who did nothing to anyone but is that really the case?

“Where is the acknowledgment that this was not a ‘cowardly’ attack on ‘civilization’ or ‘liberty’ or ‘humanity’ or ‘the free world’ but an attack on the world’s self-proclaimed superpower, undertaken as a consequence of specific American alliances and actions? How many citizens are aware of the ongoing American bombing of Iraq? And if the word “cowardly” is to be used, it might be more aptly applied to those who kill from beyond the range of retaliation, high in the sky, than to those willing to die themselves in order to kill others. In the matter of courage (a morally neutral virtue): Whatever may be said of the perpetrators of Tuesday’s slaughter, they were not cowards. – Susan Sontag about 9/11
 

Leave a Reply

