Polyamory: Married and Dating

I’ve been accused of being too open-minded and I take that as a compliment. Who am I to judge? I don’t always understand the ideas, situations, or lifestyles that I encounter in conversation or personally but I refuse to impose my judgements on anyone or anything.
I am a Showtime network whore. I love all their shows from the now cancelled US of Tara which spoke to the Psychologist in me to The Borgias which sometimes offended the Roman Catholic sensibilities that are ingrained in me. For the summer, Showtime has come up with a new way to reel me in. It is a show called Polyamory: Married and Dating and it is about people living Poly lifestyles. Now Poly for you uninitiated is the practice, desire, or acceptance of having more than one intimate relationship at a time with the knowledge and consent of everyone involved (Wikipedia). There are two relationships portrayed on the show: Lindsey and Anthony are married, Vanessa is their girlfriend and they form a triad. Kamala and Michael are dating Jen and Tahl amongst others and recently invited them to move into their home. In last night’s episode, Lindsey and Tahl decided to “come out” to their parents. Tahl is from a Jewish/Zimbabwean home and was petrified about having the conversation with his ultra conservative parents while Lindsey was not sure what to expect from her mum. Whether it was for TV or not and I would like to hope that it was not, I was extremely touched by each parents’ level of acceptance of their children. Lindsey’s mum response what that love celebrated between people no matter the number is to be celebrated meanwhile Tahl’s mum said although her husband and her lived by a different set of rules and she could not say she understood the concept of Poly, he was her son and she proud of his accomplishments. What more could you ask for? As I get older, I can’t help but try to understand what it must have been like for my parents to watch their children grow up. Have we taken the paths they expected us to take? have we become the people they dreamed we would be? Personally, I think not but I am self-sufficient, a productive member of society and constantly seeking knowledge. Beyond that, what else matters?

Leave a comment